Skip to main content

I’m curious if anyone has examples of ways they celebrate or acknowledge when customers have completed the onboarding process? I’m in the beginning stages of developing an agenda and deck for a ‘launch celebration meeting’ to demonstrate the value we’ve delivered and also use it as an opportunity to introduce the CSM who will take over the account from the Onboarding team. I would love to hear what folks do already or ideas you might have!

Great question @lydiaanderson!!! The fact that you want to celebrate completed milestones with your customers tells me you’re building a sweet onboarding experience that your customers are lucky to go through!

This is something that I’m relatively new to because I focused on checking boxes in a previous life, not creating an experience. However, that being said I know there are tools out there like GUIDEcx that makes this super simple (say hi to milestone completion messages!). 

Here are couple things I’ve learned so far:

1. Who do you send them to? All customer and internal team members (this helps them keep a pulse on project progress). 
  2. When do you send them? Ideally, you send these out at the end of each MAJOR milestone. Think of it like encouraging them along a difficult hike. After you complete major milestones (halfway, data migration, integrations, etc) it’s good to congratulate them.
  3. What do you say in them? The emails should contain words of encouragement and praise. This is a basic way to help them stay motivated and find joy in the journey! The best milestone completion messages I’ve seen also set the stage for what’s to come! 

Here’s an example milestone completion message: